BCfm Blog


Share This Post

All pictures Credit: @joncraig_photos

Bristol’s first community radio station BCfm launched the inaugural Bristol Diversity Awards as part of their tenth anniversary.  The glittering celebrations held at the Marriott was attended by a cross section of Bristol’s community. The  Award ceremony sponsored by the RAF was seen as a perfect fit with Bcfm as the force continues it’s mission to increase representation in the service.  

During the evening BCfm announced the award categories for 2018 and opened the platform for voting. Next years nomination process will be open to anyone who lives, works, serves or operates within the greater Bristol area, with over 25 award categories to choose from.

BCfm Radio CEO Pat Hart said “The Bristol Diversity Awards represent everything we do as a radio station and help to encourage businesses, individuals, community organisations and statutory groups to embrace all areas of diversity and equality with the opportunity to get recognised for it in a high profile way.

With an array of specific award ceremonies already taking place in Bristol it was felt that a format that included all diversity strands would both strengthen and compliment the existing ceremonies”.

During the evening Royal Air Force Group Captain Wendy Rothery in her inspirational address said “A diverse workforce is at the heart of everything we do and by focusing on Diversity and Inclusion within our recruiting we will harness the full potential of our people and ensure we retain and recruit the right people with the skills we need both now and in the future.  BCfm are supporting us in that process and in turn we aim to continue to support them”.

Special guests included deputy Mayor Asher Craig and Lord Lieutenant Peaches Golding. 

TV personality & award winning broadcaster Sherrie Eugene-Hart together with  Patrick Hart hosted the proceedings.

BCfm Bristol Diversity Awards 2017  Winners

Bristol Sweetmart –Business Award

Up Our Street – Community group Award

Daryn Carter BRISTOL PRIDE – Individual Contribution Award

Nick Ballard ACORN – Special Recognition Award

Dr Paul Stephenson – Lifetime Achievement Award